LSA Emmon Bach Fellowship Fund fundraising launch

« previous post | next post »

The LSA has recently established a new charitable contribution fund in memory of Emmon Bach (June 12, 1929 – November 28, 2014). The announcement, and a link for making donations (online or by mail) is here.

Quoting from the announcement page: This fund was established in consultation with Emmon’s families and close colleagues, and is to be used to support student fellowships at CoLang, the Institute for Collaborative Language Research. This will be the first named fellowship at CoLang; the founding donors are sure that Emmon would be pleased and honored to be helping to support the CoLang institutes, which offer an opportunity for practicing linguists, undergraduate and graduate students, and indigenous language community members to develop and refine skills and approaches to language documentation and revitalization.

The LSA's goal is to raise enough funds to support an endowed Bach Fellowship award at each future CoLang Institute. An endowment relies on the earnings rather than the principal to generate the financial award. In order to support a biennial fellowship that covers tuition, room and board, plus travel support, the LSA will need to raise a minimum of $50,000. Pre-announcement fundraising has raised $21,900, almost 44% of our goal, from a combination of individual donors and a contribution from the CoLang fund balance left over after CoLang 2014, sent by Colleen Fitzgerald at UT Arlington.

The fundraising drive will continue indefinitely until sufficient funds are raised, but the LSA hopes to reach the goal in time to make the first award at CoLang 2016 at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

The founding donors have signed a special letter [pdf] inviting colleagues to contribute to the fund.

Bach Fund Founding Donors

  • Jim Blevins, University of Cambridge
  • Ellen Broselow, Stony Brook University
  • Gregory N. Carlson, University of Rochester
  • Wynn Chao
  • Mary Dalrymple, Oxford University
  • Daniel Finer, Stony Brook University
  • Colleen Fitzgerald, UT Arlington
  • Lyn Frazier, UMass Amherst
  • Alice C. Harris, UMass Amherst
  • Pauline Jacobson, Brown University
  • Fred Landman (Tel Aviv University) and Susan Rothstein (Bar-Ilan University)
  • Joyce McDonough, University of Rochester
  • Barbara H. Partee, UMass Amherst
  • David Partee and Carol Kaynor, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Joel Partee and Anne Catherine Davis
  • Morriss M. Partee
  • Patricia A. Shaw, University of British Columbia
  • Gert Webelhuth, University of Frankfurt
  • T.E. Zimmermann and Caroline Féry, Goethe University, Frankfurt

And other donors who wish to remain anonymous

Comments are closed.